CVE/CWA/CCAA Certification Benefits

Certification as a CVE, CWA, and/or CCAA aids in the assurance that individuals meet nationally accepted standards of quality in their practice and have the requisite educational and professional background. Through renewing their certification at 5 year intervals with a minimum of 80 hours in approved continuing education, CVEs, CWAs, CCAAs demonstrate their continued professional development and adherence to current best practices. 

Important advantages of CVE/CWA/CCAA certification are:

For the consumer, certification:

  • Promotes consumer protection;
  • Provides a standard level of competency vocational assessment professionals should provide; and
  • Assures professionals are maintaining their knowledge-base and skills.

For the CVE/CWA/CCAA, certification:

  • Establishes a professional identity;
  • Establishes a minimum level of knowledge and a continuous upgrading of skills; and
  • Promulgates a code of ethical practice.

For employers, certification:

  • Demonstrates that certified individuals meet acceptable national standards; and
  • Establishes a standard level of competency for employee hiring and evaluation.

Major distinctions of CVE/CWA/CCAA certification are:

  • Competency Standards - A passing score on the initial certification exam ensures that CVEs, CWAs, CCAAs have met nationally-accepted, key competency standards based on current practices in the field. 
  • CVE/CWA/CCAA Code of Ethics - CVEs, CWAs, CCAAs are required to adhere to their respective Code of Professional Ethics, as administered by the CRCC Ethics Committee.
  • Skill Development - CRCC requires that individuals renew their certification every five years by documenting the accrual of at least 80 clock hours of continuing education.
  • Current Practices - The CRCC is committed to the continuous improvement and updating of best practices which forms the foundation of approved continuing education programs.
  • Written Policies - The CRCC has clearly stated policies and procedures regarding all aspects of its certification renewal process as outlined in CVE/CWA/CCAA Criteria for Certification Renewal and Continuing Education manual.