About CRC Certification

Not All Certifications are Alike – The CRC Difference

The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification (CRCC) sets the standard for quality rehabilitation counseling services in the United States and Canada. As an independent, not-for-profit organization, CRCC certifies rehabilitation counselors with its widely recognized, national Certified Rehabilitation Counselor (CRC) designation.

The CRCC developed its credentialing process in an effort to protect individuals with disabilities. Persons who earn the designation of Certified Rehabilitation Counselor (CRC) must meet acceptable standards of quality in their practice and have the requisite educational and professional background. To become certified, rehabilitation counselors must meet stringent eligibility requirements including advanced education and work experience, and must achieve a passing score on the CRC Exam. To maintain the CRC designation, certificants must renew their certification every 5 years via continuing education or re-examination.

From time-to-time, organizations surface that may not adhere to the same standards as other well-respected organizations, such as the CRCC. This is because certification, as opposed to state licensure, is a voluntary process that is not government regulated.

Major Distinctions of CRC Certification

  • National Accreditation: The CRCC holds long-standing accreditation by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA). Visit http://www.credentialingexcellence.org/ncca for more information about NCCA requirements for accredited organizations.
  • Eligibility Requirements: CRCC has established specific eligibility requirements for certification, such as advanced education and work experience. Eligibility categories are based on research into current practices and requirements in the field.
  • Competency Standards: A passing score on the CRC certification exam ensures that applicants meet nationally-accepted, key competency standards based on current practice in the field. Research is conducted at regular intervals to ensure the ongoing validity of the exam.
  • Code of Ethics: CRCs are required to adhere to the CRCC’s Code of Professional Ethics for Rehabilitation Counselors as overseen by the CRCC Ethics Committee.
  • Skill Development: CRCC requires that individuals renew their certification every five years by documenting the accrual of at least 100 clock hours of continuing education or by re-examination.
  • Current Practices: CRCC is committed to the continuous improvement and updating of the research which forms the foundation of the CRC Exam, as well as the techniques used to validate the exam through its administration. The certification process is built upon 40 years of empirical research of the competencies and job functions that are vital to the counselor's performance.
  • Written Policies: CRCC has clearly stated policies and procedures regarding all aspects of its certification process as outlined in the CRC Certification Guide.

Advantages of CRC Certification

For the professional rehabilitation counselor, CRC certification:
  • Establishes a professional identity,
  • Establishes a minimum level of knowledge and a continuous upgrading of skills,
  • Promulgates a code of ethical practice,
  • Provides a review process of published standards of practice,
  • Promotes ongoing role and function studies to validate their practice,
  • Provides employers and clients with a recognizable point of difference,
  • Is required by many state agencies, and
  • Can lead to faster career and salary advancement.

Recertification or Certification Renewal

CRCC believes that individuals certified as rehabilitation counselors (CRC, CCRC, CRC-MAC, or CRC-CS) must continue to expand their skills to enhance the quality of services they provide. The CRCC conducts a job analysis every 5 years to ensure the CRC certification process accurately reflects current rehabilitation counseling practices.

For more information on recertification, go to CRC/CCRC Certification Renewal.