State Licensure

Recognition of CRCs and the CRCE in Counseling Licensure

CRCC actively engages in educating state legislators and regulators regarding the benefits of CRCs in serving individuals with disabilities. By responding to ongoing rulemaking and through proactive engagement with state regulatory agencies and professional boards, CRCC seeks to ensure regulators understand that qualified services provided to individuals with disabilities are an important part of the counseling profession.

States that Recognize the CRC Exam (CRCE) in General Counseling Licensure

By Rule or Regulation

  • Arizona
  • District of Columbia
  • Illinois
  • Michigan
  • North Carolina
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

By Departmental Policy

  • Alaska
  • Minnesota

States that Recognize the CRC Exam (CRCE) in Rehabilitation Counseling Licensure

  • Arkansas
  • Massachusetts
  • Louisiana
  • New Jersey
  • Utah

State Professional Counselor Licensure Boards

CRCC encourages all those seeking licensure to contact their state directly as some states that don't recognize the CRC Exam by rule, regulation, or department policy may consider recognition of the CRCE on a case-by-case basis. For state contact information and web links, go to State Licensure Boards.